SR-22 Insurance in Nevada: A Complete Guide
Are you looking for the right SR-22 insurance policy in your state? Click here for a complete guide to SR-22 insurance in Nevada.
Protect yourself! 28 million American drivers don't have car insurance. That's roughly one-eighth of all drivers in the country.
Even if you have moving violation convictions, you need to get car insurance. SR-22 insurance in Nevada may be exactly what you need.
Yet you don't have to rush to buy an insurance policy. If you want to save money, you need to spend some time doing research.
What exactly is SR-22 insurance? What are the insurance rates, and what other fees do you have to pay? How can you purchase an insurance policy?
Answer these questions and you can find the perfect insurance for your time on Nevada's roads. Here is your quick guide.
The Basics of SR-22 Insurance in Nevada
SR-22 is a form that a driver files with the state of Nevada. It states that the driver has an active insurance policy that exceeds the minimum amount of liability car insurance that the state requires.
Nevada Revised Statutes section 485.185 defines the minimum amounts of auto insurance coverage in the state. The minimum liability for your auto insurance is $25,000 for a person's bodily injury or death. You also need $50,000 of coverage for multiple individuals' bodily injuries or deaths and $20,000 of coverage for damage to property.
SR-22 insurance is insurance that meets the requirements specified in the Nevada insurance laws. Many high-risk drivers must sign SR-22 and buy an SR-22 insurance policy. This includes drivers who have been convicted of a DUI, multiple driving violations, and collisions with people.
You must maintain your form with Nevada's licensing agency for three years, if not longer. Your insurance coverage can never lapse while the form is filed with the state.
Not having insurance is a misdemeanor. You can be fined up to $1,000, though you face no jail time. You should carry insurance paperwork in your vehicle so you can prove to the police that you have insurance.
Types of Forms
There are three types of SR-22 forms or certificates. An owner certificate is for a driver who owns and drives their own car. You can only drive cars that you own if you hold an owner certificate.
If you drive vehicles for work or want to use a friend's car, you need an operator's certificate. You can drive any vehicle you want, even if you don't own it. However, the certificate does not apply specifically to cars you own, which can make it hard to prove that you have coverage.
An operator's-owner's certificate also lets you drive any vehicle, including any cars you own. The certificate simultaneously verifies you and your vehicle. If you want complete coverage, you should get an operator's-owner's certificate.
Insurance rates can vary based on several factors. Your driving record is a significant one. If you have an unsafe driving record, you can expect very high rates.
But how much you drive, where you live, and what your car is like can impact your rates as well. If you don't drive very often, you may have lower rates. If you live in an area that has many unsafe drivers or car accidents, your rates may increase.
In general, SR-22 insurance is more expensive than other forms of insurance. It costs money to file an SR-22 form, though costs vary depending on who you file your form with. In total, some insurance policies cost nearly $3,000 a year, with a potential increase in rates of up to 375%.
Talk to a few insurance companies and compare their insurance options to each other. Try to find the one with the lowest rates but the most coverage.
You may be able to apply for discounts. Some insurers will give you a less expensive policy if you install safety features on your car, such as anti-lock brakes.
Most major insurance companies offer SR-22 insurance. You can buy from any company of your choice after you've spent time comparing quotes.
After you've selected an insurance company, you should contact them about getting an SR-22 certificate. The insurance company will file it on your behalf with the state.
Some policies expire before the three-year requirement is up. This allows your insurer to determine if you are a safe driver.
You can renew your policy with your company, or you can find another company. Do not change providers before your coverage ends, as you face penalties.
You may be able to buy packages of insurance. Some insurers let you buy life and car insurance simultaneously. If you don't have other forms of insurance, take a look at these packages and see if you save money off of them.
If you move out of Nevada, you need to maintain your SR-22 insurance. You will need to get an insurance policy in the state you are now living in and have a new SR-22 certificate.
Some states do not require SR-22 certification, but you will need to buy the legal minimum insurance. Other states have additional requirements besides SR-22, including separate insurance policies you need to buy. Review your new state's laws before you become a resident.
How to Get SR-22 Insurance in Nevada
SR-22 is a form you must file if the state considers you an unsafe driver. SR-22 insurance in Nevada gives you enough coverage to meet minimum requirements.
You must file an SR-22 form through your insurer, though you have an option for your forms. Premiums are significantly high, and it can be hard to save money.
Compare a few quotes and examine insurance packages. Maintain your coverage for three years, then reassess your options after the coverage expires.
Do not hit the road without car insurance. SR22Savings.com lets you find affordable insurance. Buy insurance in Nevada today.